Archive for December 26th, 2008

Picture This

26/12/2008

One of the things that happens around this time of year, for many people (myself included), is that there is a strong sense of longing for the warmer days of spring and summer. Considering that we had our “Christmas” dinner today, on Boxing Day, with all of the fixings (and the corresponding mess that goes along with a meal that takes nearly ten hours to prepare) it isn’t surprising that by the end of the day I found myself longing for the simpler days of summer (and, perhaps, a lighter meal … like a salad … with some leftover turkey).

These feelings led me to peruse through some of my photos and I thought it might be a good opportunity to share some of my photos in the Echoes of Silence. Aside from the flowers there are two cats that I want you to see as well: the black and white one is named Dr Seuss (yes, really; although he does not really answer to it … we call him several things including Seussie, Seussman, Seusselah, and, one of my all time favourites, “Little Shit” … but that is another story). The other cat belongs to my former room-mate and is named Jackson. She could well be called a number of things … none of which are polite. Ironically, Jackson is very photogenic … just don’t get too close with the camera.

Enjoy the pictures,

Wie viel ist aufzuleiden!

Truly the sweetest cat I've ever had.

Truly the sweetest cat I've ever had.

a study in staring

Cat's Eye: a study in staring

Fire Tulip, 2008, in Ottawa, Canada.

Fire Tulip, 2008, in Ottawa, Canada.

Hot Poppy, 2007, in Ottawa, Canada

Hot Poppy, 2007, in Ottawa, Canada